Mother’s Day, Belated.

May 25, 2011

I haven’t been much for blogging these days and have just been getting out of the winter slump so bear with me!

We went to East Hampton this year for Mother’s day. It was the first time i’d been to the Hamptons as an adult, and it was an interesting experience to say the least. My mom has gone there the past few years on Mother’s Day weekend to spend time with her group of girlfriends. Instead of her rushing back on Sunday and us brunching in the city, we decided to spend the weekend out there with her and enjoy the sights and scenery. To be honest, i’d always avoided going out there because we have a place in the mountains and I never saw the point in spending four hours in traffic when I could zip up north in two. But after being there that weekend, I will definitely be back this summer.

Its taken me quite a while to write this blog post for a few reasons. It begun as a birthday post for my mother in January. Obviously the ball was dropped. I kept trying to think of reasons to post these wonderful photos of my mother for a few months until alas, Mothers Day was upon us, but again, I missed the blogging boat for putting these up on that particular day. ( We were too busy sitting on the sunny deck and brunching and walking on the beach ). But the other day my mother came home from a woman’s retreat in Connecticut and when I got home from work there was a small package on my desk. She’d brought me back beautiful earring and a painted box filled with wonderful smelling scents. There was no reason for these gifts. In my family, we don’t need holidays or birthdays to appreciate each other, so I figured why wait until another holiday to put these up! My mother is a wonderful, strong woman and while there are albums worth of photographs, these particular shots stood out and I wanted to share them. Plus and they were all taken by my dad so you can see where I get it from 🙂

Mothers Day brunch in East Hampton

Leave a Reply

