Dreams of winter

January 31, 2011

When it is summer, I dream of winter. When it is winter, I dream of fireplaces, and warm socks, and DJ format on the record player. Weather brings nostalgia. Snow slows me down. It makes me take a deep breath. There is something about going north. Something romantic about the closeness that snow brings. I can’t quite put my finger on its beauty, its illusive qualitative fragment. It covers the world. Reminds us to take it day by day.

We’ve had eight snows this year in the past two months. New York City is less than twenty inches away from breaking the 1995/1996 blizzard record of seventy-two inches for the season.

Snow in the country speaks to me, its quiet depth.
Snow in the city reminds me that we’re all in this together.

Leave a Reply

