Not New Years Resolutions

January 24, 2011

I admit it, i’m bad with dates, and time differences, and pretty much doing any thing in a timely manner when it comes to anything other than taking pictures. Its funny actually, because every time any holiday comes around I see all of the blogs that I follow on a regular basis putting up their Christmas wishes, or their funny bunny suit Easter photo, or their spooky Halloween scary blog post, and I always say to myself “I need to get on doing that”, but I barely ever do. I may have succeeded once in my whole blogging history with my Fourth of July fireworks montage, as seen here, and may I add I was quite proud of myself. However, another New Years has come and gone and I have dropped the ball ( so to speak ) on writing any sort of holiday post. Now, if any of you are friends with me on facebook, you know that I waste no time in getting photos up from any given event that I have attended or taken photos of. For those of you who know me well, you even know I go so far as to stalk you for photos if you have taken pictures I want to see, but writing blog posts is a whole other ballgame. I’m working on it. I defintely will not say its a resolution, in fact its not a new years resolution, because lets be honest, they’re usually forgotten about by February, but writing more blog entries is definitely on my very long, several post-it wide, to-do list. Which includes, but is not limited to, Feng-Shui-ing my bedroom, finally finishing the last ten pages of Susan Sontag’s On Photography, going to the post office, watching Forbidden Hollywoods Babyface, which has been sitting on my dresser from Netflix for two weeks, and buying a 2011 day planner. I’m not sure i’ll ever write a blog post with a photo of me and an Easter Basket, or talk about the latkes on Passover, but I’m hoping to write more of what I think about, to share more photos I take (commissioned or not), and going out on a limb that i’m hoping it’ll be somewhat interesting to read about.

So, in the spirit of writing, and in the spirit of being more open and honest with the world, I wish to share a story. When I came back to New York last year, I photographed for a nightlife company and a wedding photography company. In the spring, I got a job with ABC Kitchen and decided to tone back the events, and only assisted for the wedding company ( which happened to be Perceptions and Anthony Vazquez Photography ). I still did a number of my own shoots, but was focusing more on the restaurant. It had only just opened three months before I was hired, and in the time I’ve worked there, I’ve watched it blossom and grow to be named as the Best New Restaurant of 2010 by Esquire Magazine as well as a countless number of mentions and articles by every major magazine and press outlet there is, including but not limited to The New York Times, New York Magazine, Saveur Magazine, GQ, NY1, Time Out, and MSNBC, just to name a few. Our chef and kitchen staff create beautiful meals, with organic and local ingredients on a daily basis, that time and time again are praised by guests each night. I am humbled to be working for an establishment where we have ‘regulars’, where there are birthdays and anniversaries celebrated every lunch and every dinner, where guests are happy to come and be a part of what we’re doing. Furthermore, and this puts it over the top for me, that I am surrounded by a wonderful staff of incredible, creative people who are continuously showing me what it means to be working towards your goals, thinking positively, appreciating the people around you and giving out a whole lot of love. I am deeply grateful for them, and humbled by their friendship. At the moment, I am only working there once a week, as I have just begun a new photography internship (jumps up and down)(more on that later), and some of the people in these photos have come and gone, but it really is a special place that forms lasting bonds, and I feel blessed to be a part of it.

By no means do these photos document our entire staff, but they are a couple of the group photos we’ve managed to take, complete with a few random strangers jumping in.

 

Leave a Reply

