Joonbug.com and Style 360’s Gala at Capitale

March 1, 2010

I’ve never watched Ugly Betty before tonight when I clicked on its thumbnail on Hulu and for the next four hours was held tight in the grips of internet television. The show has its quirks with its dissolve-into-fade-away tricks that bring you from one scene to the next by merging the last shot in a scene into an image on a desk of photographs being looked at in the proceeding scene. And then there’s Betty’s character of the ugly duckling into beautiful swan transition but still has to go through tribulations story. Yet despite the “Seen it all before” attitude that tends to accompany watching TV shows, I found myself rooting for this girl. This brave outspoken girl that possibly exists in each one of us at least a little bit. This character that America Ferrera brings to life of a person who continues to follow their dreams and what they believe to be right in the world. This character who shows us that passion does pay off! So I salute her and everyone who takes even the smallest amount of inspiration from her.

Of course, when I was invited to go to the Joonbug/Style 360 Gala for the farewell to the cast of Ugly Betty at Capitale during New York Fashion Week, I didn’t know any of this. I had in fact never seen an episode except for some small clips overheard as my mom was watching it. Also going as a guest to the event, I only had my little point and shoot camera with me, but I must admit, I do like shooting with it sometimes. In dark situations ( like the Gala ), its got that grainy point and shoot disposable film camera quality which is rough around the edges but still incredibly stunning in its own style.

With that here are a couple of shots I took at the Gala and I hope you enjoy them !

The lights changed on the ceiling constantly.. they were beautiful!

See.. those beautiful lights again! Also the Capitale is the old Bowery Savings Bank, built in 1893 and designed by the same architect who envisioned the Washington Square Arch, a Rockefeller residence, and the Tiffany building!

DJ Josh Madden and Charles Hamilton taking hold of the crowd at the beginning of the night up on stage

Absolutely LOVE this one of Josh Madden. I don’t DJ but if I did I wish I could be as cool as Mr. Madden 🙂

Another fabulous DJ there that night- Miss. Saigon

Pras from the Fugees

Yes I would say there were quite a few people there!

When Jesse Marco started spinning, it literally felt like he had the whole of the place in the palms of his hands. A-maazing.

And then this happened 🙂

One Response to “Joonbug.com and Style 360’s Gala at Capitale”

  1. sherri heitner Says:

    It looks like a fun time was had by all who attended.
    The pix of the Capital lighted ceiling were beautiful.


Leave a Reply

