Back To The Eighties at the Canal Room with Grandmaster Melle Mel

January 23, 2010

Last Saturday night I shot an event at the Canal Room for their weekly Back To The Eighties Dance party with Awesome 80’s cover band, Rubix Kube. The place was packed full- literally had to hold my camera above my head to get through the crowd. I’d never seen Rubix Kube before but had heard of how awesome Saturday nights at the Canal Room were! Man did they rock the house, everyone was singing and dancing along to classics from Devo, B*Witched, A-Ha, Bryan Adams, Michael Jackson and tons tons more. The night was especially rockin’ because Grandmaster Melle Mel made a special appearance, did a few songs with the band and put on quite a show! My friends all made such fun of me when I didn’t know much about him ( told me I was a bad homegirl! haha ). But it turns out that he was one of the most influential rappers in history. Melle Mel paved the way for all of the hip-hop artists that came after him. He was the first rapper ever to call himself an “MC”; recorded the first Hip-Hop record that was ever to be added to the United States National Archive of Historic Recordings; was the first rap artist to win “Record of the Year” at the Grammy’s; and he along with the Furious Five were the first rap group ever inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. I would say that’s pretty impressive!

In any case, it was a great show and I had a blast! It was so hard picking my favorites because I had a ton of photos, but here they are and enjoy!

One Response to “Back To The Eighties at the Canal Room with Grandmaster Melle Mel”


Leave a Reply

