New Perspectives

January 22, 2010

I will admit, sometimes I think I was born in the wrong decade. If my love for birdcage veils, suspenders, and having the door held open for me because I’m a lady doesn’t give it away, I don’t know what does! But in all seriousness, one of the things I absolutely adore about living in our day and age is our ability to connect with others, be they friends, family, or even people we’ve never met, through the internet’s unwavering force of community and social media.

Tonight I had the pleasure of watching the live stream feed from thebschool with host and photographer Becker and photographer Jasmine Star. It was one of the most motivating things i’ve watched in a long while. Sometimes when you’re doingΒ  a job by yourself and trying to start a business from scratch you forget that other people have already treaded the path and left helpful road signs for you to follow to get to where you want to be. Of course only you can make that happen, but it certainly doesn’t hurt to have proven veterans of your field, practically celebrities ( eight-hundred people signed on to view the live stream! ), giving advice and answering questions in an informal setting.

During the portion of the show when questions were taken, one answer particularly moved me. Becker and Jasmine, in efforts of answering a question about marketability, asked the viewers of the stream to think about what makes them unique, what is it about their personalities and their lifestyles that makes them something special, and to let that something shine through to their clients. This provoked a writing frenzy on my part and it lead me to philosophizing ( as I so often love to do ) that I love to capture emotion in photographs. I know what you must be saying, big whoop so does everyone else! And I’m not saying that I do it the best, or the worst or the different, but I am saying that I love to take pictures, whether they be of a beautiful couple and the energy that happens in between them or of an old building with a sign that has blinking neon lights. As someone who writes with light, I see it everywhere, and have to remember to see it even in the darkness. Jasmine Star said it best in the chat tonight, and I quote “I didn’t get into photography to have a job, I got into photography to have a passion”.

And just because it makes me happy, here’s a screenshot from tonight’s videocast. πŸ™‚

5 Responses to “New Perspectives”

  1. Kristina Says:

    Don’t you just love them both! They’re amazing photographers and leaders.

  2. Me Says:

    Good points, I think I will definitely subscribe! I’ll go and read some more! What do you see the future of this being?

  3. Jasmine* Says:

    Thanks SO much, Samantha! You’re so sweet! πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

